twitter, facebook, social media, mobile, app, cell

rounds – June 24, 2016

Rounds Header

Residency 101 Contest

New incoming residents were encouraged to ask questions about residency on social media using #residency101, and current residents were invited to respond, or give their advice for being a #successfulresident. For the most engagement, the winners are:
– Dr. Petra Dolman, current R2
– Dr. Simona Spassova, incoming R1 
Thank you everyone for your participation! While the contest is now closed, we welcome you to keep using those hashtags!

Meal Allowance Administration

As many of you know, UBC sent out an email recently announcing a change to the meal allowance administration process. We voiced concerns regarding the additional administrative burden to residents in an urgent meeting with UBC and HEABC on Monday, and the changes to the meal stipend administration have been put on hold until the three parties can determine a solution to resolve these concerns. Further instructions will be provided as soon as they are available.


Upcoming Events

Block 12 Call Stipend Deadline 
Block 11 will be paid today, June 24. The FINAL deadline to enter calls for Block 12 (May 9 to June 5) is July 5th. Please enter all of your call shifts before the deadline to ensure payment.


RDBC Board Meeting
The next Board Meeting will be held at the RDBC office on July 6th at 6:30PM. Please email if you would like to attend!

Book and appleDid you Know?

Our Strategic Plan ended this year, and the Board of Directors and RDBC staff have been working hard over the past couple months to develop a new Strategic Plan for 2016-2019. We are pleased to announce that the plan is now complete and available for viewing on our website.


Resident Doctors of BC Trivia

Resident Doctors of BC has numerous committees residents can get involved with. Name one of those committees, and describe what they do.

Email your response by June 6th and you could win! ($10 Starbucks, iTunes or Amazon gift card) *Winner randomly selected from all entries*

The winner from the last edition was Dr. Elizabeth Montgomery.

author: Michelle Seymour