2015 Psychiatry Department Award Winners

Resident Doctors of BC would like to congratulate all of the 2015 Department of Psychiatry Award winners. See the resident recipients below:

Dr. Pouya Azar – Dr. Brian Morris Memorial Award & CanMEDS Award

Dr. Azar was awarded this award at the UBC Psychiatry Research Day for displaying compassion and empathy combined with clinical excellence.

Dr. Azar was also the first place finisher for the 2015 CanMEDS Award, which is a peer selected award presented to the Resident who best exemplifies the CanMEDS Competencies of Medical Expert, Communicator, Collaborator, Manager, Health Advocate, Scholar & Professional. For additional places please visit the UBC Psychiatry awards.

Drs. Stacy Cormack Pouya Azar – Undergraduate Teaching Award

Drs. Cormack and Azar received this award at the 2015 Psychiatry Research Day for their excellence in Clinical Teaching.

Drs. Priyanka Halli an Alex Leung – The Emily Ellingsen Prize for Significant Contribution to the UBC Residency Program

Drs. Halli and Leung received this peer nominated award to recognize their outstanding contributions to the psychiatry residency program that have resulted in improvements in the training, professional development and/or camaraderie amongst residents.

Dr. Alex Leung – Significant Leadership Award

This award is presented annually at the Psychiatry Research Day to recognize consistent and outstanding leadership within the residency program and/or in other community activities.

Dr. Petra Stephen – Dr. Robert Kitchen Memorial Award

Dr. Stephen was presented the Dr. Robert Kitchen Memorial Award at the UBC Psychiatry Research Day for excellence in Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry.

Dr. John Tavares – Postgraduate Psychotherapy Award

This award is presented at the UBC Psychiatry Research Day to a Resident who has a strong interest in psychotherapy; has exceeded standard expectations in acquiring psychotherapy skills and has demonstrated evidence of positive development as a psychotherapist.

Tags for this post

author: Michelle Seymour