Board of Directors

2016 - 2017

The Board of Directors is the governing body of Resident Doctors of BC. Members are elected annually by the membership, and are subject to the provisions of the Constitution and By-Laws. They are responsible for reviewing Resident Doctors of BC initiatives, identifying and responding to recent resident and medical issues, and ensuring the association adheres to the mission statement.


Dr. David Kim


David is an Emergency Medicine Resident originally from Nanaimo.  He pursued both undergraduate studies and medical school at UBC.  He is excited to serve as president of Resident Doctors of BC this year and hopes to bring his experience to the table to advance the interests of the association and residents, and to advocate for better patient care.  In his free time, David enjoys golfing, trading stocks, and playing the drums.


Dr. Vishal Varshney

Immediate Past President

This is Vishal’s fourth year of Board involvement.  He completed three years of undergraduate education in biological sciences with a minor in economics at the University of Calgary, followed by his medical education at the University of Calgary.  He enjoys Indian music, learning to play the ukulele, and exploring BC.


Dr. Gagandeep Dhaliwal


Gagan is a second year family medicine resident at St. Paul’s. He completed medical school at McMaster before moving to BC for residency. This is Gagan’s second year on the board and he is looking forward to working with the board and our stakeholders to advance the organization’s strategic position.


Dr. Clark Funnell

Director of Finance

Clark completed his undergraduate and medical degrees at UBC.  He has a strong interest in advocacy and finance.  He highly recommends the Meditations of Marcus Aurelius (yes, the Roman emperor) for anyone interested in mindfulness and wellness.  This is his second year to serve on the Board of Directors.


Dr. Boluwaji Ogunyemi

Director of Communications

This is Bolu’s second year participating on the Board. He previously served as an Official Observer, as well as on the Council of Program Representatives, and on the Communications Committee. Currently a fourth year dermatology resident, he is serving as Chief at UBC. He is excited to serve on the Board of Directors and looks forward to a productive year.


Dr. Safia Chatur


Safia is a third year internal medicine resident. She completed medical school in Alberta before returning to BC for residency. Safia has a strong interest in medical education, policy and advocacy having previously served on the Medical Council of Canada and the Resident Doctors of Canada Training Committee. She enjoys learning to sail, running and travel.


Dr. Odion Kalaci


Odion is a second year Pediatric resident originally from Southwestern Ontario. He enjoys traveling, languages, and a variety of sports. He is interested in improving interdisciplinary relations, and encourages anyone interested in connecting with the Pediatrics group to contact him.

jesse kancir

Dr. Jesse Kancir


Jesse is a first year in Public Health and Preventative Medicine focused on combining his three main interests: health policy and politics, public health, and leadership. He has spent the past few years completing policy studies at the University of Cambridge and working as a Policy Advisor for the current Minister of Health, and was previously President of the Canadian Federation of Medical Students.


Dr. Nicole Smith


This is Nicole’s first year on the Resident Doctors of BC Board of Directors, having previously served as a Council Representative.  Originally from Calgary, Nicole completed her B.Sc. and M.Sc. at the University of Victoria, and medical school and residency at UBC.  She is current pursuing a career in GIM.  As a resident, and a mother, she has a strong interest in resident wellness and advocacy.  She spends her free time traveling with her family.


Dr. Emily Stewart


A decade ago, Emily left the west coast of BC to complete her undergraduate degree in Economics & Environmental Science at Dalhousie University in Nova Scotia. After working in Ecuador with the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), Emily completed medical school at the University of Toronto, where she was a Scholar in the Leadership Education And Development (LEAD) program. She is thrilled to return beautiful BC as a first year in Emergency Medicine. Emily brings experience working in advocacy, governance, and health policy at the local, provincial, and national level.


Dr. Bez Toosi


This is Bez’s fourth year of involvement with Resident Doctors of BC. He has previously served on the Board of Directors and Council of Program Representatives. He is currently the Chair of the Canadian Dermatology Association’s Residents and Fellows Society, and a board member of both the Canadian Dermatology Association and the Canadian Professors of Dermatology. He is looking forward to a successful year.


Dr. Charlie Walsh


Originally from Kelowna, Charlie completed his undergraduate degree in Montreal at McGill before attending medical school in Vancouver.  Now in his second year of internal medicine residency, his interests in medicine include diagnostics, health literacy and the health of marginalized and low socio-economic status populations.  Charlie enjoys cycling, fitness and music.

harry gray

Harry Gray

Executive Director

Jas Hans Resident

Mr. Jas Hans

Medical Undergraduate Society Representative

Dr. Fatima Allibhai

Official Observer

R4 Psychiatry

Dr. Derek Chang

Official Observer

R3 Family Medicine

Dr. Kay Fung

Official Observer

R1 Family Medicine

Dr. Farnaz McNeil

Official Observer

R1 Family Medicine

Dr. Nazlee Tabarsi

Official Observer

R1 Family Medicine

Dr. Angela Babuk

Official Observer

R4 Internal Medicine

Dr. Marlon Danilewitz

Official Observer

R3 Psychiatry

Dr. Alexandre Lefebvre

Official Observer

R3 Anesthesiology

Dr. Stefan Milanovic

Official Observer

R1 Family Medicine

Dr. Salina Teja

Official Observer

R4 Ophthalmology

Dr. Paxton Bach

Official Observer

R4 Internal Medicine

Dr. Christin Fabriel-Leclerc

Official Observer

R4 Psychiatry

Dr. Nathalie Levasseur

Official Observer

R4 Medical Oncology

Dr. François Pomerleau

Official Observer

R5 Anesthesiology

Dr. Conrad Tsang

Official Observer

R1 Public Health & Family Medicine